50th anniversary reunion dinner for 1974 Irish Senior Cup winning side

On 6th April 1974 Three Rock Rovers 1st XI won the Irish Senior Cup in a season when they also won the Leinster Senior League.

A 50th Anniversary Reunion Dinner was held on 5th April 2024 where four of the surviving six members of the 1974 team attended.  Regrettably six of the original team – Derek Hennessy, Richard Fitzsimon, Michael Varian, Malcolm McMullan, Richard Mellon and David Judge – are no longer with us while Peter Craig and Paul Coulson were both unable to attend on the evening.

In the 1970’s the format of the Irish Senior Cup was different in that the winners of the Leinster, Ulster and Munster Sections played off for the title.  Rovers had won the Leinster Section defeating Dublin University by 1-0 on 9th February 1974.

Lisnagarvey had won the Ulster Section and they came to Dublin on 23rd February 1974 where the match finished in a 1-1 draw.  Rovers then had to go to Ulster on 9th March 1974 for the replay on the Lisnagarvey ground at Blaris outside Lisburn.  Played on a muddy pitch in front of a hostile crowd, Rovers went 2-0 up in the first half with goals from Derek Hennessy and David Judge and survived a second half siege to emerge victorious by 2-1.

The final was then played at Londonbridge Road on 6th April 1974 against Cork Church of Ireland who had won the Munster Section.  An early goal by Richard Fitzsimon and a penalty stroke by Derek Hennessy in the final five minutes won the match for Rovers by 2-1.

The 1974 winning team pictured above:  (Back Row) Derek Hennessy, Eric Bradshaw, Houghton Fry, Trevor Myles, Richard Fitzsimon, Paul Coulson, Michael Varian.  (Front Row) Peter Craig, Malcolm McMullan, Richard Mellon (Capt), John Findlater, David Judge.

Trevor Myles, John Findlater, Eric Bradshaw and Houghton Fry at the reunion.  (Inset) Peter Craig and Paul Coulson.

Another photo of the reunion.  Roger West (Current Club President), Trevor Myles, John Findlater, Eric Bradshaw, Houghton Fry, Neale Webb (Past Club Captain and member of the 1974 squad) and Cedric Christie (Past Club President).

1973/74 Final Leinster Senior League Table.

Start a Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *