The club was founded in the 1893/94 season by graduates of Dublin University Hockey Club. The club initially played at grounds in Foxrock, before it moved to one of the Irish international venues at Londonbridge Road.
When the club sold the Londonbridge Road grounds in 1981, it laid a water-based SuperTurf pitch on new grounds at Grange Road. In 1988, Maids of the Mountain Ladies Hockey Club relocated to Grange Road and shared the facilities with Three Rock Rovers. In 1999, the two clubs merged to become one club, the current Three Rock Rovers Hockey Club.
Currently, we have 5 men’s and 3 senior ladies teams. Our junior teams boast more than 240 girls and 180 boys. Our men’s and ladies vets teams play regularly during the week. Our facilities include 2 water based artificial pitches, and one grass pitch, making TRR HC one of the main venues for hockey tournaments in Ireland.
We are the home of Leinster Hockey, with vibrant Men’s and Women’s Senior sides, Ireland’s first ParaHockey side and one of the strongest youth sections in Ireland.
In addition, our ongoing policy of sharing in the community involves supporting seven local primary schools in providing sporting facilities for hockey, junior rugby, and local GAA and football clubs also use our facilities. Our venue is used by local groups for off- field events, including annual AGMs, regular health and wellbeing classes and for a number of other purposes. We support Darkness into Light and other charity initiatives.
If you would like to become a Rover or find out more, check out: